Agia Roumeli

This is one name for two different settlements, the old and the new (inside and out) – Agia Roumeli. The old village is located at the exit of the Samaria Gorge, at what is, in essence, the end of the National Park and was abandoned after a great flood in November 1954. There are still the old houses there, some of which have begun to be renovated, and various churches, the main one dedicated to the Holy Trinity in the area of the settlement’s cemetery, south beyond the village towards the sea.

The new settlement began to be organized after 1957 on the west bank of the river, which also runs through the gorge. It was extended after the 1970s on to the coast, where there is a small harbor. Except for on foot, by going through the Gorge or along the old cobbled footpath parallel with the coast, Agia Roumeli is accessible only by sea. On the site of the village, archaeologists discovered the old cemetery of the ancient town of Tarras, the ruins of which exist mainly on the east bank of the river.

Above the settlement lies the ‘Koules’, a Turkish fort built between 1866 and 1869, but evidently with a former Venetian period, since inside there is an old church. Recently an access path has been constructed which starts at the medical centre and the ruins of the Temple of Apollo. As it is quite steep, perhaps a preferable ascent is the old footpath which begins on the immediate left, just after crossing the bridge at the entrance of the old village, after the cemetery. Also in the new village there is the church of the Dormition of the Mother of God, built over the ruins of an Early Christian basilica for which were used ancient building materials from a temple, probably dedicated to Above the settlement lies the ‘Koules’, a Turkish fort built between 1866 and 1869, but evidently with a former Venetian period, since inside there is an old church. Recently an access path has been constructed which starts at the medical centre and the ruins of the Temple of Apollo. As it is quite steep, perhaps a preferable ascent is the old footpath which begins on the immediate left, just after crossing the bridge at the entrance of the old village, after the cemetery. Also in the new village there is the church of the Dormition of the Mother of God, built over the ruins of an Early Christian basilica for which were used ancient building materials from a temple, probably dedicated to Above the settlement lies the ‘Koules’, a Turkish fort built between 1866 and 1869, but evidently with a former Venetian period, since inside there is an old church. Recently an access path has been constructed which starts at the medical centre and the ruins of the Temple of Apollo. As it is quite steep, perhaps a preferable ascent is the old footpath which begins on the immediate left, just after crossing the bridge at the entrance of the old village, after the cemetery. Also in the new village there is the church of the Dormition of the Mother of God, built over the ruins of an Early Christian basilica for which were used ancient building materials from a temple, probably dedicated to Apollo of Tarra. In front of this ruin, on the other side of the road, can bemade out, the site of a Roman structure where a centre of handicraft production of glass pots was discovered, together with a mass of discarded glass, which is at present exhibited in the Archaeological Museum of Chania. Unfortunately, the whole site has not been systematically excavated with only superficial surveys carried out, such as the one which resulted in the discovery of the Romanworkshop.

Today, the seaside settlement consists mainly of a tourist resort for the gorge walkers with small hotels, eating-places and connections by sea with the harbors of Souyia, Paleohora and Hora Sfakion.

Visit Ag.Roumeli

Map

Other Travel Guides

{tguide_phototitle_en}

Agarathos Monastery

According to written documentation, the Monastery was established in the 15th c. AD and is considered to be one of the oldest in Crete.

More
{tguide_phototitle_en}

Mili Gorge

The name was given after the water mills that existed in the past all along the gorge and were used to grind the wheat of the nearby villages

More
{tguide_phototitle_en}

The Museum of Cretan Ethnology in Vori village

Exquisite museum of Cretan Ethnology offers a well-rounded exhibition of the cultural and traditional life on Crete.

More
{tguide_phototitle_en}

Komitades village

Komitades is a village in the Sfakia region 4km north-east of Hora Sfakion, located precisely at the exit of the Imbros Gorge.

More
{tguide_phototitle_en}

Loggia, Heraklion

Loggia is a very elegant building, one of the most picturesque monuments of Venetian architecture on Crete.

More
Experiences
We know best
Follow us
Follow us on social networking pages and learn our news first
Contact us

Andreadaki 13-15 Heraklion, Crete
712 01, Greece
Tel.: +30 2810-342222
Fax: +30 2810-342212
e-mail: touristguidesofcrete@gmail.com
ΜΗ.Τ.Ε. 1039 Ε 6000 00870 00
Office hours: Mon - Fri: 9.00 - 15.00

Newsletter
Sign up to receive great deals first and our company news

CreditCards